Once a year chance to explore historic buildings - properties in Sandwich that are usually not open to the public will be open during English Heritage Open Days weekend.
All properties are open at the kindness and discretion of their owners and guardians.
Opening times are restricted to the hours shown and may be subject to possible alterations
Six former almshouses, built in 1805, replacing an older building dating from before 1287.
Entrance opposite the side of the Guildhall
Saturday and Sunday 10:00 to 17:00
access code - A PDA
Internal viewing subject to letting availability.
Public parking at rear of Guildhall
1603 Grade II* Listed. Early 16th century Flemish style courtyard house.
Small town centre property.
Artist’s studio with an exhibition of work.
Within Town centre
Saturday and Sunday 13:00 to 15:00
access code - A W B ABC - Limited Numbers. Private House.
Uneven floor surfaces and steps.
Not suitable for disabled access or unaccompanied children.
Town Centre Medieval church, part rebuilt following an earthquake in 17th century. Interesting monuments vestiges of wall paintings.
The tower may be climbed where there are spectacular views over the town - £2.50 per person.
Saturday 10:00 to 17:00 - Sunday 10:00 to 16:00
access code - E PDA The Church Conservation Trust
The sandwich medieval centre is dedicated to bringing the crafts and trades of medieval Sandwich back to life in our purpose built medieval style building with a working forge, bake oven and scriptorium.
Watch skilled crafts people demonstrate a range of medieval trades including coppersmithing, blacksmithing, enamelling, wood working, baking and calligraphy plus many more.
Discover the rich heritage of medieval merchants, traders and the warships that once made up one of the most important sea ports of the medieval period.
At the Quay Saturday and Sunday 10;00 to 16:00
Originally operated by the US Navy as part of the Rhine Patrol in Germany in the Cold War period following WWII.
The boat is kept in original condition and is now moored at Sandwich Quay.
It recently starred in the 2017 film 'Dunkirk'.
Tours conducted by members of her current crew.
Waterside location, steep steps and restricted headroom.
Saturday and Sunday 10:00 to 17.00
access code - ABC
Visit this dramatic town centre church with its spectacular roof, fascinating monuments and stained glass.
Informal guided tours
Saturday and Sunday 10:00 to 16:00 - Stewards on site
access code - PDA DP - Disabled and ample public parking adjacent.
The Churches Conservation Trust
Photos on this page copyright Open Sandwich and Wikimedia unless otherwise stated.
Open Sandwich: promoting Sandwich around the world since 1998 | Locally Designed & Hosted by Open Sandwich Design 2017